Starting the new year, Californians are also facing new changes in the law. According to the LA Times, the following law changes will affect Californians in the following ways:
- If your child is under the age of two, they must sit in a rear-facing car seat.
- If an individual is convicted of a DUI, they must install a device to ensure their sobriety before driving.
- Further restrictions on distracted driving have surfaced.
- Motorcycles will be subject to a new speed limit when driving between cars.
- Companies cannot hire drivers who are registered sex offenders, have a DUI (last seven years), or have been convicted of a violent felony.
- Drivers for companies cannot have a BAC of 0.04% of higher.
- Charter bus drivers will provide instructions to passengers on the usage of safety equipment and emergency exits.
- Bus drivers for school districts will need to improve bus driver training.
- There are now electric car rebates for those making $150,000 or less.
- New foreclosure protection for surviving spouses now exist.
- Homeowners can now build on their property (review the law).
- Lead-acid batteries will increase in cost.
- The state eliminated statutes of limitations for rape.
- Prison time is mandatory for those convicted of sexual assault (victim must be unconscious or unable to give consent due to intoxication).
- If a person is found with a “date-rape” drug they are eligible to receive felony charges.
- Sex offenders must give their email addresses, usernames, and other identifiers to police.
- It is more difficult for law enforcement to seize assets less than $40,000.
- The addresses of domestic violence victims cannot be published.
- There is now a ban on the drug “spice.”
- Children cannot be charged for prostitution; adults do not face the mandatory minimum sentences for prostitution.
- It’s illegal to hold information via software for ransom.
- Its legal for public schools to expel students for bullying through video or sexting.
- Minimum wage will increase to $10.50 at companies that have 26 or more employees.
- Employers are not allowed to pay women less than males based on prior salary.
- Employers cannot ask about a previous arrest, detention, or court case (if the incident occurred when the employee was under the age of 18).
- Semi-automatic rifles that have bullet button for the removal of ammunition magazine will no longer be sold; those in possession of this gun must register it.
- It’s now a misdemeanor to falsely report a firearm lost or stolen.
- California will create a uniform license for concealed weapon.
- Concealed-weapon permit holder is required to lock guns and place safe in trunk.
- Single toilets must be designed for both genders.
- Smoking (or e-cig) must be 250 feet away from youth sporting events.
- Patients who attend in-network hospitals, lab, or clinics will not receive “surprise” charges.
- Businesses and public agencies can now carry medicine for emergency allergic reactions.
- Women are allowed to pick up an entire year of birth control (insurance must cover cost).
- Stricter laws are set to counter the spike in opioid overdose deaths.
- Californians can now try experimental drugs (not approved by FDA) if terminally ill.
- Californians are now allowed to save pets from trapped cars (only if they call authorities first).
- Kennels and pet hotels must check on animals once a day.
- Dogs rescued from dog fights will no longer be labeled as “dangerous.”
- Orca breeding is now illegal.
- Felons (county jails) can vote.
- Its legal for voters to take a “selfie” with their ballots.
- Voters can now give their completed ballot to someone to deliver.
- Public financing will now be available in more cities and counties
Learn about the changes in the marijuana laws in California.
Have a serious injury and need legal advice? Contact Howard Blau.
(n.d.). Retrieved January 03, 2017, from http://www.latimes.com/projects/la-pol-ca-new-2017-laws/#government